As someone who is normally away from my pc and the internet for the majority of weekends, I was thrilled to have a rare and mega-nerdy weekend at home with Blizzcon Virtual Ticket live-streaming over my TV (via laptop) and World Of Warcraft running for HOURS at a time on my desktop. It was two glorious days of geeking out. The extra amount of time I got to spend in-game resulted in some good solid guild rep gains and getting Morena up from level 75 to level 77. But even though it was cool to get some extra game time, we all know that it was getting to watch Blizzcon that was the highlight of my weekend. Blizzard had a lot of things to talk about this year with Diablo III, Starcraft II: Heart of the Storm, and the official announcement of the next WoW expansion.

Of course, I’m really only interested in the World of Warcraft content so I watched all of the WoW panels and Q&A’s. Which means I heard and saw a lot about Mists of Pandaria and the upcoming changes to talents, dungeons, pets, etc. I know a lot of people in the community have a lot of things to say about all of these things. I can definitively tell you I have no interest in the whole pets combat thing and will likely not pay it any attention in the least; but the rest of the stuff, I just don’t have any strong feelings one way or another. I guess it’s because I have such a strong social tie to the game that my future with WoW will depend on if I’m getting what I need from it on a social level. If a huge chunk of this community that I love so much decides not to continue after the xpac then I would have to take a serious look into if I will still enjoy playing. But there’s certainly no point for me to worry about that until it does or does not happen.

This is my 2nd year in a row ordering the Blizzcon Virtual Ticket and while I do enjoy the announcements and previews and dev panels, etc. the live stream makes it seem like the entire convention is nothing more than sitting or standing in front of one of the stages listening or watching the current event. They never show any hint of what may be going on away from the stages. In my mind the outer fringes of the convention center is a party zone of activity with people running around in costume and thousands of photos being snapped. I can picture groups of people huddled up and chatting excitedly and loudly, resulting in an overwhelming amount of noise being generated overall. But I can never confirm if this truly happens. They never show any behind the scenes stuff. Someone out there please tell me Blizzcon is more than sitting in a darkened auditorium staring at a stage.

Of course I enjoyed the costume contest and sort of enjoyed the dance contest (surely most of those people don’t truly think they can dance?) and I was pleasantly surprised to see that Jay Mohr was actually funny this year; because last year, not so much. And while there were a lot of Dark Lady Sylvanas Windrunner’s and Tyrande Whisperwind’s, they were all actually really cool. But I’m sure we can all agree that the Terran Adjutant from Starcraft II just blew it out of the water.

Here’s a gallery that features some of the great ones and below is a video of the 3 winners.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 573 other followers

