RAMBLINGS FROM THE WORLD OF WARCRAFT

In 2 months I will celebrate my 4th year in World of Warcraft and I’m totally excited about that. I wish I had been around since Vanilla, but I’m grateful that I started during BC.  However, anyone who knows me in game will know that I really haven’t accomplished as much in 4 years as most players do. I have 1 level 85. My next highest character is a level 77 Worgen, so as you can see that’s only been during the last year. There are still raids and dungeons pre-Cata that I’ve never completed. Some I’ve never even stepped foot in. I only have 7040 achievement points, so you can see I don’t spend my time achieving all the things. I still don’t even have the achievement for completing 2500 daily quests. I have not ran enough pugs to earn the puppy. I only have 22 exalted reputations. And the list goes on and on.

So I bet you’re wondering just what the hell I do with all my time. Trust me, sometimes I wonder myself. I don’t really know how to explain it, it’s kind of like a instant onset of ADD when I log in. I’m VERY attached to a few people I play with and enjoy all of my guildies in general, so I spend a lot of time just standing around and chatting. I spend a lot of time flying to the wrong place and having to backtrack because I am too concerned about guild chat to pay attention to what I’m doing. I spend a lot of time farming herbs because I’m addicted to the AH. Of course, I’m also addicted to mount and pet collecting, so I spend a lot of the money I make on those types of silly things. And of course, I take a whole hell of a lot of screenshots.

But even aside from the specific things I mentioned above, I’m just like a kid in a candy store in-game. I just look around wide-eyed at everything, even though I’ve seen it all before. I actually stop to smell the flowers before I pick them. Which finally brings me to the point of this post. I love being an herbalist. Sure it’s an easy way to make easy money, and now it even gains you experience, but that’s not why I enjoy it so much. I just like the fact that there are pretty, sparkly things all around me no matter where I’m at. Yep, I’m pretty silly.  Always have been.

My 3 Favorite In-Game Herbs/Flowers Based Solely On How Pretty They Are To Me:

1. Gromsblood – Found in Felwood, Blasted Lands, Desolace and Ashenvale.

2. Frost Lotus – usually obtained as an extra herb while gathering other Northrend herbs, but actual Frost Lotus nodes can be found in Wintergrasp and The Conservatory of Life.

3. Mana Thistle – found in Terokkar Forest, Shadowmoon Valley, and Isle of Quel’Danas.

So yeah, there you go. Those pretty flowers are just one of many things that keeps me distracted. What about you guys? Do any of you have any special attachments to herbs or anything similar? Are there other people out there who’ve been playing for years and thoroughly enjoy it, yet don’t have a huge list of accomplishments to show for it?

Comments on: "The One Where I Ramble On About Flowers" (6)

  1. Love that picture of Gromsblood. Personally my favourites are Heartblossom (reminds me of Marigolds) and Kingsblood. It was seeing Kingsblood in Ashenvale for the very first time on my first ever character that made me want to be a herbalist.

    When I was at school we had to read Ithaca by Cavafy and my approach to WoW (and pretty much everything else I do) has been coloured by that.

    “When you set out on your journey to Ithaca,
    pray that the road is long,
    full of adventure, full of knowledge.”

    (whole poem can be found at http://users.hol.gr/~barbanis/cavafy/ithaca.html)

    It’s not about achieving things which are deemed important to others, it’s about having fun, exploring and learning. I’ve always loved herbing, during vanilla, my Priest when she wasn’t raiding or battlegrounding, could usually be found in Felwood, picking flowers. Now I fly around on my Druid, taking screenshots and collecting herbs. The zones might have changed, but I still find it relaxing.

    I think it’s partly why, despite having playing WoW (with a few breaks here and there) since launch, I still find myself coming back. There are so many options available to us.

    • Very cool poem, thanks for sharing that.

      It’s no secret that every day is a new day for me in Azeroth. My guild leader once said I have a “childlike enthusiasm” and I suppose that is a very accurate description. It results in a lot of aimlessly wandering around in-game and it also results in a lot of aimlessly rambling blog posts like this one.

      Good news is, I see I am not the only one with this problem. :)

  2. Felweed. Gives ya a smoother buzz than even Zul’Mamwe Gold.

    • Felweed is one of those herbs that I have to stop and pick every time. It doesn’t necessarily qualify for my “prettiest” list, but yeah, I’d say it’s one of my top faves.

      I don’t think I’m getting the same use out of it that you are though. :P

  3. Wilkie said:

    Whenever I pick a goldthorn I get a flashback to listening to the Pavement song “Gold Soundz” back in high school (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rj6QilYg5VA) and find the opening line running through my head “Go back, to those goldthorns…” It always makes me smile.

  4. Nice. Thanks for introducing me to a band I’d never heard before. Those boys look like they’d be fun to hang out with.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 568 other followers

