RAMBLINGS FROM THE WORLD OF WARCRAFT

Elfindale, the Night Elf Druid, now has an evil twin. With the exact same name. Which makes her more of an evil clone than a twin. Because most people don’t name their twins the exact same name. But I digress. Meet Elfindale, the Blood Elf Mage.

Let me try to explain a few things. My break from WoW would have happened regardless of SWTOR, and SWTOR did not cause me to need a break. There was something just not sitting right with me. Elfindale is my one true love, my only level 85. I have a handful of alts, but never stuck with them long because I just always wanted to be logged into Elfi. But she became useless. She was/is a casual healer in a raiding guild with more than enough healers to go around. I have spent so much of my time in Cata simply farming herbs and playing the Auction House. I rarely even did any 5 mans because somewhere along the way (before moving to the raiding guild) I lost confidence in my healing. It’s all I ever wanted to do but I became too afraid to do it. So I decided to just switch to laser chicken and no big deal. Except then I really lost interest in everything. SWTOR is amazing and I’m loving it and trust me, it’s filling up my time and then some. But I do still WANT to play WoW.

So over the past week, I’ve started dipping my toes back into the pool. And I’ve dipped some new toes into new pools. I’ve created and deleted a couple of toons this week as I’ve tried new races and new classes and spent 7 or 8 levels deciding how they felt. An Orc hunter, a Troll rogue, a Gnome warrior. Nothing really felt right. I missed Elfi and yet cannot bear to play her. I thought briefly of deleting her and starting over, but she’s the first ever character I ever rolled and I just could never do that. Too many memories tied up with her. I thought briefly about unexpectedly gquiting and server transferring her, but it’s not about my guild or my server at all. I like people there and they have nothing to do with Elfi feeling useless to me. No matter what server she was on she would still feel the same to me.

That’s when it finally hit me that maybe I should just recreate her differently. I’m playing caster dps in SWTOR and really enjoying it, so let’s try that out in WoW with a race I’ve never played before. I’m still in the starting area, and it’s not like it’s going to be a fast process because I am concentrating on getting two characters raid ready in SWTOR, but so far this alternative Elfi feels good. And there’s the added bonus that I don’t have to change the name of my blog if I want to talk about her. WIN!

Comments on: "So This Just Happened" (4)

  1. That’s not true Elfi.. we don’t have nearly enough healers to go around. We’re dying for a drood healer. Literally it is the top of the list of our recruiting needs. So if you want to start getting invites for raid nights just let us know and we’ll put you on the list!

  2. Yes, I suppose there has been a loss of raiders recently. But I am currently committed to raiding in SWTOR and I honestly just don’t feel like logging into Elfi and healing. For the past 6 or 7 months I’ve only logged in to socialize, I just felt lost. So I’m trying alternatives. Right now, WoW is my part-time game and even if I did feel like healing on Elfi, her gear is ridiculously behind. I wouldn’t do you guys any good at all.

  3. [...] still slowly plugging along on my new Elfindale project and as you can see from the screenshot, I’m newly guilded. For the first time ever I had to [...]

  4. [...] adventures I’ve been on.. it’s all so freaking priceless. Needless to say, even though I’m a bit disenchanted with Elfi right now, I would never dream of deleting her or abandoning her completely. Which is why [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 572 other followers

