I’m a few days behind on this, but last week’s shared topic from BlogAzeroth is as follows:

How do you express your geekery? Do you own obvious paraphernalia like a Horde-symbol bumper sticker, in-joke tshirts like the dps/ups pun, or less obviously related items like a gift from a guildie? Rather than physical indicators, do you mix nerd lingo into your everyday speech or talk/post about geekdom in non-nerd spaces? How do you advertise your nerd tendencies? Does it help you to attract new nerd friends?

Well let me assure you, I DO proudly display nerd badges. And yes, it helps attract new nerd friends. Which is a total bonus, but is not the reason why I display my nerdiness. I just figure that it only takes people about 2 minutes of knowing me to realize I’m a total dork so the least I can do is help people realize why I am the way I am. “Aw, the poor dear can’t help but act this way. Just look at her, she’s a total nerd. Bless her little heart.”

My two most recent purchases have already been responsible for starting several random conversations with strangers.
Gas station cashiers, strangers in the breakroom at work, even bank tellers have all commented on my bracelets. It’s been pretty evenly split on which bracelet gets the most comments. I haven’t had them very long, but I love them.


I’m a fat chick, so I don’t really have a lot of nerd t-shirts. One, because no one needs to stare at my fatness to try and read a shirt and two, because it’s just a waste of money since I
won’t look all cute in them. HOWEVER, because I’m a fat chick and Elfi is a night elf druid, I HAD to get this shirt a couple of years ago. It cracks me up every time I wear it.

Another place you can find proof of my nerdiness is on the back of my car where I proudly display the following stickers. (taken in the dark with a cell phone, crappy picture)

And then there’s my desk at work which is really geeked out. It’s not even all pictured here. Of course, working in the IT industry I’m surrounded by people who understand why my desk is decorated the way it is. They can appreciate it.

At home there are WoW plushies and Darth Vader helmets sitting out on display. I am also one of those annoying people who talks in lolspeak quite often, though only to people I know will understand it. I’m quite the oddity in my family of rednecks. My parents and the one brother I was raised with just scratch their heads at me and wonder what the hell I’m talking about. It seems to really cause my mother some serious pain to be out shopping with me and watch her 41 year old daughter buy Star Wars toys and World of Warcraft trading cards. But I can’t help it, I’m a nerd and I’m proud of it.

Comments on: "Nerd Badges – Blog Azeroth Shared Topic" (6)

  1. I need to take a picture of my cube to contrast the mundanity. I’ve so little to make it different, yet I don’t understand why what I have doesn’t attract more comments.

    Of course, I don’t have a camera phone either.

  2. Your gear is fantastic! Having coworkers understand the merch in your cubicle sounds really nice, too.

    • Yes, it’s a good thing to work where you’re surrounded by fellow nerds. We have the most amazing conversations that I wouldn’t be able to have if I worked with “normal people”. Lol.

  3. OMG! Elfi, next time next time I come across that “Epic Mount” bumper sticker.. I’m going to roll “NEED!”

    Nym

  4. Nymbol, I will tell you where I bought most of my geek gear if you promise you won’t get mad at me for causing you to spend your money. :P

    Just go to Cafe Press and type “WoW” into the search bar. For some reason searching for “World of Warcraft” doesn’t work. But if you search for “WoW” you will find bumper stickers, t-shirts, coffee mugs and even underwear.

    I bet you can’t shop there without buying something.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 573 other followers

