RAMBLINGS FROM THE WORLD OF WARCRAFT

Ding! Level 90


Yeah, I know… a lot of people have hit level 90 already. And those that haven’t have legitimate reasons for not doing so, such as lack of play time or purposely concentrating on other things in-game. But this is huge for me because I’m the world’s slowest leveler. I’m very impressed with myself for setting a reasonable goal and achieving it. Honestly, with my style of derp play derp it was quite a feat. Between getting distracted by shiny things, composing screenshots, tabbing out to Wowhead because I was lost, wandering away from the keyboard several times an hour because sitting there makes me restless, etc., etc., I didn’t know if I would get it done before the weekend was over. I set my goal time for 11:30pm on Sunday evening because that’s when I leave the house for my Monday morning (12:00am) shift at work. When the magic moment finally happened at 10:00pm, I was so relieved. Now I can finally worry about my professions and reputations and start doing dailies. I may even try out the whole pet battle thing I used to think I had no interest in.

In fact, when the expansion was first announced I was fairly certain I had no interest in any of it. Fortunately, I did decide to check out the beta back in the spring and that piqued my curiosity enough that I began to get a bit excited about things. Combine that with a good 7 or so months of practically total immersion into SWTOR and by the time August rolled around with 5.0 coming soon and the expansion itself right around the corner, I began working myself into a frenzy. The old saying ‘absence makes the heart grow fonder’ was certainly true in this instance because once I began logging into WoW more regularly again, I found myself really wanting to be there all the time. My experience with Mists has been fantastic. The zones are beautiful, the changes in professions are brilliant, there are new mounts, new pets, new dungeons. Some of the things I thought were silly a year ago when I was reading about them are actually not so damn silly at all. I do tend to agree with people who complain about the linear questing being redundant when leveling up alts, but enjoying those quests on my main was amazing. And she’s really the only one I have an emotional attachment to at this point. When I do finally take an alt to 90, it just means I don’t have to bother reading the quest text because I’ve already done so. And I won’t get turned around and lost as much as I did the first time through. Maybe.

I’ve been reading so many great blog posts about everyone’s impressions of Mists and I realize I’m days behind and have nothing new to add. I’m okay with that considering I retired from blogging back in May. Luckily, when I wrote my last post I was smart enough to leave myself a loophole. The Favre factor. And since it’s football season Mists of Pandaria has finally arrived, I’m feeling the lure of the WordPress dashboard more and more. Yep, there may be a return to activity around here. For one thing, I need to compile a bucket list within the next 2 weeks or so of things I want to accomplish and set myself some date ranges for getting them completed. I have not done that with any of the previous expansions and I always end up sad about what I missed out on or didn’t bother finishing. And there’s just so much new, cool stuff going on now. Not to mention so many new screenshot opportunities.

Okay, let’s make it official… just like Brett Favre, I have changed my mind about retirement. I’m back in the game as a blogger. Don’t expect me to start out at a full run, I’ve got to stretch my muscles and slowly get back into shape. But I do believe I have just made a return to the game.

In the meantime, here’s a small sampling of screenshots you’ve likely already seen.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 573 other followers

