RAMBLINGS FROM THE WORLD OF WARCRAFT

New content has been coming out super fast, which is awesome for the people who are able to keep up and are done with all current content but not so awesome for someone like me who just bumbles along slowly and stops to smell every flower pick every herb. I made it to 90 in 4 days, but when patch 5.1 came out I was behind on grinding rep with most of the MoP factions. I believe I had only done the Tiller rep to exalted and was bff’s with all the farmer people. When 5.2 came out I was still behind. I had gotten exalted with Golden Lotus but only revered and honored with a few of the others. So, hey, guess what? Now that 5.3 is here I still haven’t spent more than a few hours on the Isle of Thunder.

This worried me. I love that content is coming out fast, but I hate the fact that I cannot catch up to it. Part of the problem is that in addition to being mostly casual (and constantly distracted) I am also a completionist. Not a good combination in a game with this many things to do. I never moved on to the Isle of Thunder when it became available because I wasn’t finished with some of the original MoP factions. I’ve never been good at doing dailies anyway so it was slow going. Now we have more new stuff and I am feeling overwhelmed.

In order to try and speed myself along a bit, I had asked my guildies Tuesday night if they had any suggestions on which reps I should concentrate on more than others. I mean, finishing up Shado Pan is probably not going to benefit me at all gear wise but maybe Operation: Shieldwall would. Rather than looking it all up myself I decided to ask them because they are raiders and all current with content. Also, I am lazy. They were completely helpful as usual, so I set off immediately to the areas they suggested and decided to skip over some of the (now) less important things.

But then today at work, I decided to read the patch notes for 5.3. Yes, I realize you all did that weeks ago but I didn’t bother because I knew I wasn’t ready for it. However, I’m glad I looked them up tonight because while I was perusing the site I came across this article which basically lets me know I should skip straight to the Isle of Thunder to help myself catch up. Admittedly, it will bother me a bit to have skipped so many things but I’ve heard such good reviews of the Isle and of the new 5.3 stuff that I think getting a bit caught up and seeing the awesome stuff will outweigh the disappointment in leaving things unfinished.

The reason I’m mentioning it here is because it will be useful information to have for anyone who is trying to get alts caught up and are tired of grinding out Klaxxi rep and the like. Straight from the horse’s mouth – going straight to the Isle is the most efficient way for a fresh level 90 to get caught up.

Comments on: "Go West, Young Druid. Straight To The Isle Of Thunder." (1)

  1. […] Yesterday I posted that Blizzard themselves are suggesting fresh 90′s should begin questing on the Isle of Thunder to help get geared up and ready for the newly added content. I am not at all a fresh 90, but I was so worried about completing rep for the various factions that I hadn’t ventured over there yet. I was a bit concerned I might have trouble doing the quests because I don’t raid for gear and I assumed the quests would be slightly harder than the Klaxxi and ShadoPan dailies I had been doing. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 569 other followers

