When you get 4 weeks of vacation time at your job, sometimes you just take a week off to go nowhere. Which is what I did this past week. I only had two plans for my little staycation: reorganize, rearrange, redecorate & deep clean every room in my place and play a lot of WoW. Unfortunately, only one of these two things happened. The house looks awesome and I’m so glad I made the changes I made. Although I will say it cost more than I expected to thin out my clutter and organize things more efficiently. I had to buy storage bins, custom size frames for years worth of art I collected that had never been hung, new rugs that matched the decor, etc. etc. But I am so pleased with the results, it was all totally worth it.

Because I’m me, I didn’t start with one room and work at it until completed. I did little things randomly all over the house at once. I’d work on the bedroom closet for 15 minutes and then stop to use the restroom and decide to work under the bathroom sink for 10 minutes. Then I’d head into the kitchen for a drink and pull everything out of the pantry before deciding I should really get back to that closet and stopping along the way to rearrange the dvds on my new shelf. Yep, this is how I roll. So the entire house was in disarray all at once and everywhere I turned things were unfinished. It was sort of overwhelming so when I wasn’t actively working on the house, I found myself in the recliner watching Netflix. I just didn’t have the energy to sit at the desk and play WoW, as silly as that sounds. So I don’t have any LFR stories for you as I had anticipated.

What I do have are some random pictures of how things look now. Not that you have any idea of how things looked before, but that’s okay; I’m going to show you anyway. The only really huge thing you need to know is that my computer desk and my treadmill desk used to be in my living room which meant the living room chair was stuck in the darkness of my bedroom. Because I work 3rd shift, I had blackout curtains up in my bedroom and it was pitch black 24 hours a day and only used for sleeping. I have now taken down the blackout curtains and moved the computer desk into the bedroom and the living room chair back into the living room. The treadmill has gone into the spare bedroom with the laptop setup on it so I can watch Netflix or type blog posts or whatever while I’m walking. I have actually hung things up on the wall and decluttered the tops of dressers, end tables, etc. to put things away in newly organized closets. Doesn’t that sound exciting? Trust me, it really is.

desk

living room

china cabinet

hallway table

kitchen area

master bedroomend table

Comments on: "The One Where I Return From Going Nowhere" (6)

  1. Nice work Elfi. There needs to be a Dos Equis guy meme for this: “I don’t always clean…but when I do, the place looks like a tornado hit it until I am done.”

  2. Hahaha, that would be awesome. That’s totally me.

  3. Ahh I scrolled down from the weeping angel… where’d it go!?! I love blackout curtains so much :)

  4. Yay we share the same method of tidying up. I’m currently using it to pack up our house so that we can move. You can’t move without falling over a box :p

    I like your slightly mischievous looking trees. That’s the sort of expression I’d imagine Gnome Druids to have.

    • You can’t tell in the picture, but there’s a 3rd tree face in the middle of the tree, it’s just on the side. It’s a see no, hear no, speak no evil tree…. apparently. All I know is it’s actually an incense burner and I accidentally stumbled across it very recently at a store and it immediately made me think of druids. Which meant I had to buy it because Elfi needed to be represented somewhere in my house. :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 573 other followers

