RAMBLINGS FROM THE WORLD OF WARCRAFT

Another alt appreciation post: #DRUIDWEEK

Ah, Druids. How do I love thee? Let me count the ways… okay, there are too many ways to count. On with the post about druids. I love mine. Especially Elfi, of course. Elfindale is not only my main, she was the only level capped toon I ever had until about 2 weeks before MoP was released. So she’s always been my main, my one true love.

In fact, Elfi is the actual very first character I ever rolled. I was such a noob. I had never before played any MMO when my brother talked me into trying WoW, so even though he told me what server he was on, I didn’t know that meant I had to choose that server to create my toon on. I created Elfi on whatever random server Blizzard was defaulting to at the time and very slowly started leveling her up. After a few days of working on her my brother logged in and tried to whisper me. That’s when he realized I did the server thing wrong and explained it to me. /facepalm. I had no idea. Elfi was around level 17.. not very far along at all. But did I re-roll on my brother’s server? Hell no! I loved Elfi already so I paid $25 to transfer my only character to a new server at level 17. It really is ridiculous looking back at it. But as I stated, I was completely new to MMO’s and I went in with my heart on my sleeve. I really took my time identifying with Elfi.

Actually, when I finally let my brother talk me into playing and I created and paid for my account – it took me over a week to even launch the game and roll Elfi. Why? Because I had to decide on her name first. I had already researched the game enough to know I wanted to be a Night Elf because I like the whole hippy, earthy, dainty, magical elf thing. And I knew I wanted to be a druid because it combined magic and shape-shifting. These things seemed amazing to my little inexperienced brain. But what to name her… hmmm. It had to be something I could live with the rest of my life (I don’t know why I thought that these characters must be permanent. Lord knows I’ve deleted my fair share in the years since).

Every time I tried to think of a good name for an elf, the word Elfindale would instantly pop into my head. At the time, Elfindale Mansion was a place I drove by every day on the way to work and back home. It’s a locally famous historical landmark and not only did I see the mansion sign all the time, the immediate area around it is Elfindale Center and that huge sign is right next to the road. For days I tried to think of a cool elf name and for days Elfindale echoed inside my head. Finally I caved. I named her Elfindale. I named her after a shopping center, rolled her on the wrong server and paid $25 to move her when I could have just leveled a new toon to 17 in a matter of hours. Yep, I love that druid.

Here’s some young Elfi shots:
youngElfi_1

youngElfi_2

But this is alt appreciate week, not main appreciation week. So why am I blathering about Elfi? Geesh, sorry about that. Okay, so I mentioned above that I only had 1 level capped toon until right before MoP launched. Anyone care to guess what my second high level toon was? Yes, that’s right – a Worgen druid. Her name was Morena and although the Worgen sniffing could be a little distracting, I really enjoyed her while she was alive. I worked hard to get her from 70 – 85 in about 2 weeks so I could claim two max level toons. Once Mists was available, I spent 4 days getting Elfi to 90 and then immediately worked on Morena. I didn’t do her as fast, but she was 90 within 2 weeks.

Morena

I suppose if you get completely technical about it, she is still alive. I mean, I didn’t delete her. But when my temporary SWTOR career ended and several of my friends returned to WoW, there were a couple of them that were die-hard Hordies. In order to be able to spend some time in-game with them, I server transferred and faction changed Morena. Obviously she couldn’t be Worgen anymore, so she became a Troll druid. Additionally, the name Morena wasn’t available on the new server so I just completely changed it to my SWTOR name, Krisstalys (except with an extra “s” because Kristalys was also already taken. /shakes fist at high pop servers).

trollmog_3

Yep, I love druids. I’ve actually got a few other lowbie druids sprinkled around just for fun. There’s just something about shapeshifting I really enjoy. Oh, and Flight Form. Yeah, Flight Form is the best thing ever. Oh, and back when I was actually a Resto healer I also loved Tree Form. Ah, memories. Makes me smile to remember the good old days.

Comments on: "The One Where It’s Druid Week" (2)

  1. Love your story about creating Elfindale. :) Very similar to what I went through when I created Riven on SecondLife. I hadn’t played a video game since Frogger, and never any kind of virtual world or mmo. Took me a week to find her name and a year to get her looking like she should. Sometimes I’d look in a mirror and be surprised that it wasn’t her looking back at me.

    My first surviving WoW toon is a night elf druid. I made her to play as a duo with the man who was my SecondLife partner. We split up and suddenly she was alone. She went to Everlook, did all those endlessly boring frostsabre quests, and now is languishing in Zangermarsh. Perhaps one day her sorrow will get channeled into some really active fighting.

  2. OneCrazyPaladin said:

    Nice! I don’t have multiple druids like you, but I do have multiple paladins.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 573 other followers

