lvl 85

I had mentioned at the beginning of the month that I’ve been working on leveling a Night Elf Monk to help my guild earn the Stay Classy achievement. Well last night I finally got to 85. It’s been a really fun project in terms of seeing some new people around helping and being able to run some low level stuff with guildies. But it’s also been personally rewarding for me in ways I’m not even sure I can explain. Truly, I cannot explain it. I keep wanting to say something about proving I can set a goal and stick with it until completion … but that’s not something I have trouble with irl and I already have 3 level 90’s in game. So I’m not sure why this character makes me feel proud of completion. Hmm. Anyway, it was rewarding and I’m very proud of it for many unknown and/or ridiculous reasons.

The monk and I have had quite a journey & I am going to be sad when she hits level 90 and just becomes a profession mule for me. She was way more fun than the DK and I feel like I play the monk better than the DK. Maybe I’ll try to fit in dungeons and scenarios with her once or twice a week. I’m not even through leveling her and I feel like I miss her already. Lol.

But now the achievement is … uh … achieved… as far as my participation is concerned and I won’t be spending the majority of my time on her. I must get back to working on improving Elfi in the hope she may one day be a viable Flex option. So I want to use this space to leave a condensed version of the fun we’ve had together.

I started out so innocently in the forests of Teldrassil:

the beginning

But I immediately ventured out into the world to offer my assistance & I was a pretty quick learner:

deadmines

Eventually I got to where I was kicking a lot of ass:

kicked a lot of ass

And I can’t even count how many beautiful things I saw along the way:

fun along the way 2

I made sacrifices when necessary & stayed where I was needed:

moved whenever necessary

I elbowed my way through the masses to make sure I got my fair share:

battled my way through

I’m proud to say I did not merely survive, but learned and gained and improved and contributed:

not a total idiot

And now I have stepped foot onto new ground & though I will be slowing down a bit in my adventures, I know there are many wonderful things ahead of me:

landed in Jade Forest

It’s been a lot of fun. I am glad Business Time allowed me the opportunity to contribute. Now maybe I will convince myself to start seriously working on the handful of alts I have created and never touched. A monster may have been created…

Comments on: "The One Where I Do Something Classy" (2)

  1. DiscGrace said:

    I don’t understand how you got a screenie of Spinning Crane Kick without it getting obscured by all the numbers. So many numbers.

    Glad you enjoyed the monk so much though!

  2. It was an accidental screenshot. I have the Multishot addon & it’s set to take screenshots of every reputation gain as well as achievement. Not because I care so much about every little rep gain, but because I have discovered it happens so often that I end up with a lot of random screenshots that may be one day useful for a blog post and I wouldn’t have thought of taking them. :P

    As for this particular one, it was a rep gain screenshot but of course I have cropped out the chat window that shows I just hit honored. If you look closely, the mobs have just died (which triggered the rep gain, duh) so that’s why there’s only a few, fading numbers in that shot. I mean, once you start the spinning crane kick you are simply gonna spinning crane kick until your spinning crane kick is done. NO ONE CAN STOP THE SPINNING CRANE KICK.

    And yes, I completely enjoyed the monk. I already miss the spinning crane kick. :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 576 other followers

