Archaeology. Oh man, when they first announced it was going to be introduced into the game I was so excited. It sounded awesome. Travel the world, learn more about the lore of the land, dig up cool treasures. How could anyone not want to do that? And it was really fun for about a week. Then the new wore off. Ugh. Talk about a grind. The 12 minute flights across entire continents, the running and surveying and running and surveying and running and surveying and running and surveying and running and finally digging. Digging once, then starting the whole process over. I don’t know why I do this to myself.

Yes, they have totally improved it now. It really is better than it used to be. But it still sucks ass. It’s still cross-continent flights and total randomness and non stop running and surveying. Let’s be honest. No one is still doing Archaeology just for the fun of learning the lore. We grind it out for the mounts and the pets and random cool little toys & transformations. I used to force myself to do 3 or 4 digsites a week in the months after I started leveling it up. Eventually, though, I just couldn’t bear to. Then towards the end of Cata I decided I really needed to get the Vial of the Sands mount for Elfi, so I worked on it a little bit more. But not too much. It still just wore me out.

Cut to the past several months when every time I turn around my crackhead friend with the million alts asks me if I have a 2 person mount so I can fly her to the Shrine. Nope. Still don’t have one. But I should. I’ve got all the mats for the damn mount in my bank; they’ve been there for years. So I’ve decided to give it a go again. After spending hours flying around Kalimdor in hopes that I would spawn some digs in Uldum I wasn’t getting anywhere. I am not even exaggerating when I say I hit 30 digsites in Kalimdor and 1 of them was in Uldum.

Scratch that. Let’s try something different. I think it may actually be faster (due to shorter length of flights) to dig in Pandaria and then crate my artifacts and turn crates in for Tol’Vir crates. Which is what I’ve been doing all morning. I also traded some Spirits of Harmony for crated artifacts. I think this may be the best method for me. It seemed like I got keystone from about half the crates so I was able to solve quite a few times. Unfortunately with all my Tol’Vir solves I have only gotten 1 canopic jar so far. However, between all the Night Elf and Fossil solves from my Kalimdor digs and the Tol’Vir onesI did end up with a couple of pets, the fossilized raptor mount and some other little something. Nothing major.

Just an Ultramarine Qiraji Battle Tank. That ole thing.

Squee! I still am not loving arch and I still have a long way to go to get the damn dragon transformation mount, but I am very happy I lucked into this thing. It’s a beast.

Mount1

Comments on: "The One Where I Grind and Grind and Grind" (6)

  1. Congrats on the amazing archeology find!

  2. You know, I have that recipe. /cough

    • Thanks for the offer, friend. I did not know you had it or I would have been done with this crap a long time ago. But, as you can see from the post I made today, I no longer need it. Which is why I didn’t respond to this comment sooner. :)

  3. Grats!

    I have to be in the mood for Archae, but when I get into it, I do it for hours! I love that it’s totally random and I like that you have to move around, but I’m with you that flying cross-continent all the time is irritating!

    • Right, it wouldn’t bother me near as bad if they spawns were just a bit more linear. But I ended up getting the recipe I was seeking so now I only have to do it for fun when I want to and that will make it all so much better.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 573 other followers

