I have technically had a twitter account for approximately 2 years, but I have only began actively using it over the past 6 months or so. When I first created it, I set the username to be the same as my general internet handle; the same nickname I use for Google ID, Flickr, Blogger, various forums, etc. I didn’t have any use for Twitter for a long time, so my account sat idle. Last summer, when I started noticing some of my favorite bloggers were really beginning to up their tweet counts, I decided to give it another shot. I downloaded TweetDeck to my Android and began following some people. I felt bad never tweeting anything of my own, but I didn’t really have anything interesting enough to say. Eventually I started randomly posting funny zingers like “The last thing I want to do is hurt you. But it’s still on the list.” and “It’s always darkest before the dawn. So if you’re going to steal your neighbor’s newspaper, that’s the time to do it.” While those certainly entertained me well enough, I’m still not sure I was making good use of the app.

However, as I became more entranced with WoW my tweets began to naturally and slowly revolve around the game. As you all know, I began blogging and just recently moved my WoW blog over to this site and away from my old personal blog. Today I decided I should update my Twitter account accordingly and match up my username to my new blogging name, Elfindale. Because I didn’t want to screw it up and potentially lose any of my followers, I googled it real quick and discovered it couldn’t be easier. When you log in to Twitter and click on “Settings” the second field down from the top of the page is “Username” and all you have to do is erase what’s in there and type a new one. Ta da! It’s that simple. But since I’m a moron, I decided that before I changed my username I should send one last tweet under the old name telling everyone I would be changing to Elfindale. That way they wouldn’t be lost or confused. Made perfect sense to me.

But you see, here’s what happened. I sent out the tweet “I am changing my Twitter name to Elfindale and….” and THEN I clicked into settings and typed Elfindale in as my new username. And it was already taken. Of course these types of things happen to me. I just rush along full of giggles and excitement, never taking the time to stop and think things through properly. Sure it’s fun on a roadtrip or a girls night out, but damn it can cause some problems. I had to make a quick decision… keep my old boring, non WoW-related name OR make use of an underscore to change my name as close to Elfindale as possible. The underscore finally won out.

My new Twitter username is @_Elfindale and I am not as happy about it as I wanted to be. I did a search to find the already taken Elfindale account and once I found it I was even unhappier. It belongs to a woman in Texas who follows 10 people and has tweeted a total of 2 times, both dated Jan 31. Which means (since that’s obviously not here yet this year) they’re at least a year old if not longer.

Yep, if it can be done wrong you can bet I’ll know how.

Comments on: "How To Fail At Twitter" (1)

  1. Scott said:

    @Elfindale: Can I have your twitter name?

Leave a Reply

