Vegas was great. The road trip out west loosely following Route 66 was great. The Lady Gaga concert was amazing (again). But the cell phone coverage? It sucked ass. I’m not surprised that while driving through the deserts of New Mexico and Arizona there wasn’t much of a signal, but I did think that once I got to Las Vegas I would have no issues. I don’t know if everyone has this sort of problem there, or if maybe they just don’t have any Verizon towers, or what. All I do know is it meant I couldn’t keep up with email, Twitter and Google Reader like I had planned. I got behind, way behind, on the happenings in the WoW community. I went almost a week without anything WoW related. I’ve been home since Wednesday, but I’m also way behind on laundry, housekeeping, unpacking, grocery shopping, etc. So I still haven’t had any time for WoW. I still haven’t caught up on blogs, I haven’t logged in to any of my characters at all, I haven’t been tweeting or even reading Twitter and most importantly, I haven’t missed all these things as much as I thought I would. I mean, I’ve obviously missed the game a bit. I will be logging in this weekend and getting back into the swing of things. But the social stuff outside of the game? I’m kind of enjoying not having 35 posts a day to read or 50 tweets an hour to follow. I don’t mean that to sound rude, it’s nothing against anyone I follow. It’s just been nice having some quiet time this past week where I’m not scrambling to keep up with the onslaught of information we are exposed to constantly these days.

What the hell does this all mean? Well, I’m thinking it may mean that my blog will have lived a short life. Already I find myself scrambling for posts. I mean, screenshots may do wonders for Postcards From Azeroth, but they don’t impress too many people when I post them here. I am not a hardcore raider so I don’t have that to talk about. I am beginning to become an altaholic, but I don’t have a lot of cool stories I can tell. I’m funny, but I’m my own biggest fan so I can crack myself up without posting on the internet. I just didn’t realize how much time was going to be involved. It’s not just the time it takes to write posts, I have to invest time to read 25 other blogs to keep up with topics and then I have to read through pages of comments to see if I agree or if I’m offended. Etc, etc, etc, blah, blah, blah.

I’m also going to be letting my Twitter account go dead. I always seem to be behind and I end up mostly reading conversations I’m not involved in, so I’ve decided it’s just a waste of time. The fact that TweetDeck sucks (at least for me) and won’t update for hours before dumping 200 tweets on me just makes my decision even easier. I’m not a big talker, therefore I’m not a big tweeter; no one will miss me. And not stopping every 10 minutes to read these small updates will save me some time and help keep some of the clutter out of my head.

So, that’s where my head is after vacation. I had a great time. I can’t wait to go back to Las Vegas because I did not get to do/see everything there is to do/see. And I have realized how nice it is to relax and to spend a bit more time away from the internet. Being unplugged was not what I had planned, but now I see how beneficial it was. I will put up one or two more things here that I already had rough drafted, but don’t expect too many more posts. I will stick with the game and I’m sure I will still read 2 or 3 of my favorite blogs, but that’s going to be about all. Thanks to everyone who read this blog and posted comments here. It was fun.

Comments on: "The One Where Vacation Is Over" (13)

  1. *blinkblink* welcome back – and sadface :S That’s a real surprise and a shame. I’d just been getting into your blog and was looking forward to seeing more 😦 Still, it’s your call of course- I hope you enjoy the newfound extra relaxation!

    • Don’t worry, you’re not actually getting rid of me that easy. It was just an April Fools joke and hopefully one that didn’t go too far. I didn’t think about people taking me so seriously they may never check the site again to see my next post proclaiming it as a joke. Hopefully you have subscribed to comments and will get this message so that you continue reading this blog.

  2. Boo hiss.

    G’luck Elfi!

    • I was just fooling everyone. Every year people trick me on April Fools Day so I thought I’d give it a try this time around. I hope no one took me too seriously. I have no plans to quit blogging any time soon.

  3. rioriel said:

    You shall certainly be missed, dear Elf. x

    • Thanks for the kind words, but I feel bad because I was just tricking you guys. It was an April Fools Day joke post and hopefully I didn’t sound so convincing that you stop visiting my page. I am still actively blogging.

  4. Bimini Asheye said:

    I hope you post was merely a result of what day it is today. I would hope that you give yourself more credit than that! *indignant pout*

    • You were right to be suspicious. Yes, this was just an April Fools Day joke and hopefully one that didn’t cost me to lose any readers. I didn’t think it all the way through when I posted it and hadn’t realized people might read it, take it to be truth and then remove me from their feeds so they never see me say it was a joke.

  5. Kimber said:

    omgomg!! Really? Just when I was comfortable with posting? You’re killin’ me, Smalls!
    I am sad. =(

  6. Dammit, I knew I should have been checking the dates for at least a week after I had caught up on my feedreader. Really glad to see this was a joke and I look forward to your vacay pictures (and more posts!!!) >:D

  7. […] to make up for the fact that nothing was posted yesterday. Especially since on Friday I wrote an April Fool’s Day joke about no longer posting. Not exactly the kind of thing you want to follow with the absence of […]

Leave a Reply

