Guess what? Last Friday morning I ordered a whole computer worth of sparkly new pc components from New Egg and a 23″ widescreen monitor from Dell. You have no idea how freaking excited I am. Maybe if you knew the history of all the computers I’ve ever owned (3 including my current laptop) you’d understand it more. Basically I have owned a Gateway with a whopping 10G hard drive & 256 memory, a hand-me-down gaming desktop from my little brother where I started my adventures in WoW, and my current pc which is a 17″ widescreen laptop with a blu ray player & full-sized keyboard which I have now been using for 3 years. It’s got the shortest amount of time on it, the Gateway was about 9 years old before I was able to move on from it. Being able to custom build one specifically for gaming was amazing. Everything should arrive on Wednesday or Thursday and a friend/former co-worker/guildie who lives locally is coming over to do the actual building. I am so psyched about it, it’s ridiculous. It will be WoW like I’ve never seen it.

In other news, on Friday I put in an application for an apartment. I have been roommates with my brother for a little over 5 years and he is getting married this summer (yay!) so I will be moving out of his house and into my own place. I became roommates with him when I moved an hour and a half away from my own home to accept a job. But even before I made that move, while I was living in a house I was buying, I had a roommate. And I had a roommate where I lived before I bought a house. And a roommate before that. And a roommate before that. Etc. I have always hated to be alone for more than a few days at a time. I’m not gonna take the time here to break it down for you, but that’s all tied to my low self-esteem and my lack of confidence. Except that there really is something magical about the age of 40. When you’re under 40 you think it means you’re going to be over the hill. But then when you get there you suddenly realize what it means is that you have become completely comfortable with yourself. You now know who you are. I have reached that point where I almost like me. I’ve learned that I don’t worry as much about what people think of me. And I am excited that I will soon be living by myself. For the first time in years and years and years I can decorate the entire place how I want, I can sleep with the bedroom door open, I can control the temperature of the house and other such simple pleasures. I am very excited for the opportunity. The apartments I have chosen are very spacious and very pretty and they just opened 2 new buildings so it will be completely brand new. But I gotta admit, World of Warcraft has played a part in how much I am anticipating this change in my life. One of the main reasons I am not worried about living alone is because I know I can login at any time and have friends to talk to and keep me company. It’s gonna be awesome. Well, except for the part where I have to pay 3x more a month than I have been. Lol.

Finally, I am excited about the new LFD Call to Arms feature that has been all the buzz for the past week. Now I realize most people are not excited about this at all and I have been reading post after post about it in the blogosphere. I completely understand the concerns that tanks have and the concerns that tank/healer teams have. But even though it won’t appeal to or offer a solution for the majority of people, there are people that will benefit from this. People like me who are in smallish casual guilds, work hours that are a bit out of norm, or both. I work the graveyard shift, so I stay up a few hours in the morning and then sleep into the evening. By the time I get logged in the 6 or 7 people in my guild who do heroics regularly have done them an hour ago. If I want to run one I either have to pug or I hope some of my friends on the server who aren’t in my guild invite me along for a run. So while I understand why most people think this whole idea is an insult or just plain ridiculous, when your only option is to solo pug and risk the abuse then the small chance that healers will be called to arms and that I will then have a chance at pets and mounts does make a difference to me. I just hope healers get the call enough to get me a few runs a week.

Comments on: "The One Where I Anticipate New Things" (2)

  1. Yay to the new computer – hope we see pics when it’s built! Also, good luck with the new apartment. Don’t forget.. it also means you can have whatever food you want in the house xD

  2. I will definitely take pictures of it after it’s completed and in a few months I will take pictures of the new apartment. Also, good point about the food. I am working on developing a healthy lifestyle in order to lose weight and stay healthy and I do pretty good at eating turkey burgers, kashi cereal and apples all day long. But it will be so much easier when my brothers pop tarts aren’t staring me in the face and there isn’t pizza in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

