I am a very happy subscriber of World of Warcraft: The Official Magazine and recently received issue # 4. I know the subscription seems ridiculously expensive for only 4 issues a year, but think of it the other way around… you’re spending $10 on something really, really cool and you’re only doing it 4 times a year. See, isn’t that better? Seriously, it’s a gorgeous magazine and every time I receive a new issue I fall in love with it all over again. The insight into the creation process and the artistic process, the stunning graphics, little known behind-the-scenes information, the fact that each issue averages 145 pages and there isn’t a single advertisement in the whole damn thing… it’s amazing. I highly recommend you subscribe if you are able.

In the most recent issue, the community section features a story about players who combine their real life talents with their love of the game to create some amazing WoW inspired crafts. I have always been jealous of people who are crafty because I have always wanted to be crafty. The closest I get is when I buy unpainted ceramic figurines at craft stores and paint them up as gifts. Or the one time I collected ginormous acorns with my niece and nephew and painted them up as ghosts and jack-o-lanterns for little tabletop Halloween decorations. The people who are really talented are making highly-detailed sculpted clay figurines that have wire and tinfoil frames, plushy voidwalkers, hearthstone cookies, faction-based jewelry and other similar items. I wish I had their creativity and skills. It has inspired me to try and think of something WoW related that is simple enough for even me to be able to create. It has also made me curious to know how many of you guys are crafty and if any of you incorporate World of Warcraft into your crafting hobby. I would love it if you commented here to tell me about things you make or things that you know other people make.

While we’re on the subject, I’m sure everyone already knows that you can go to CafePress.com and type “WoW” into the search to find all sorts of t-shirts, bumper stickers, coffee mugs and mouse pads. That’s where I got the awesome bumper stickers that adorn the back window of my beastly vehicle. What you may not know is that you can go to Etsy.com and search for “Warcraft” to find little crafty items that people have made. In fact, currently there is a WoW Alliance Pillow Slip cover that fits over an 18×18 pillow that I would love to have on my new couch in my new apartment. But since I need to come up with the money for the new couch and new apartment first, I guess I’ll just have to hope somebody keeps cranking these out so I can buy one in a few months.

Comments on: "The One Where I’m Calling All Crafters" (7)

  1. I’ve been wanting to try out to knit and crochet WoW-inspired items for a while now, like hats, bags, scarfs and stuff like that. I’m just not very good at knitting or crocheting yet, so I suppose I have to practice a little more…

  2. I’ve always been sort of interested in learning to crochet. How cute would it be to crochet myself a little druid tree or something.

  3. […] got a crafter ingame? Elfi’s wondering if you can craft irl too – cakes, mesh figures, costumes? Go tell her – what’s your craft […]

  4. Much of my art is WoW-related (does that count as a craft)…? I have more recently made some little figurines out of Sculpey like this one: http://manalicious.wordpress.com/2011/03/29/tuesday-art-day-shaedre/ and I’ve done one of some of my other characters too. They are fun to do! I guess making wow-recipes also counts as a craft, and I’ve done some of that too. I hope you can find a fun “wowcraft” that you enjoy! 😀

    • Absolutely it counts! I love your artwork and you were one of the people I was thinking of when I wrote this post. Also, I am interested in what wow-recipes you may have. If you ever have any spare moments, I would love it if you could send me a few of those. I would also love to know how busy you are with commissioned work because I would love to purchase something from you featuring Elfi.

      As far as me crafting something, I have decided on a clay project. I have a really simple design in mind at first but maybe it will be something I can work on improving over time. Of course, I won’t start anything until after my upcoming move is completed and I’m settled again.

  5. Bristal said:

    I took a wood-carving class 10 years ago, and recently picked it up again. I made my wife a little stool with some cool Zen kind of stuff carved on it. Relief carving, symbols and words and stuff. She loves it.

    While carving I TOTALLY hear the WoW crafting sound effect. Wish I could do it that fast, too.

    I’m contemplating a WoW themed homage to my main. I know I won’t be playing forever and I’d like some meaningful reminder of all the time I…”invested” in the game.

    • You totally should figure out a way to do something for your main. I bet a wood carving figurine would be awesome. I would love to see pictures of that, or any other carvings you have created.

      Forever ago, when I was in high school, I took every art class I could and in one of them we did some work with wood carving. Not like 3D items, but we’d take a square of wood and transfer an original drawing onto it and then chisel out around it and outline it, kind of make it like a 3D drawing and then paint it. I loved doing those projects. Back then I also did a lot of drawing and painting and was fairly successful in the art shows we would do with the surrounding schools.

      So really, when I say I wish I was crafty what I really should have said is I wish I was creative. Because when it was an assignment in class and the teacher provided a theme, I actually could create some really cool stuff. It’s now that I don’t have someone suggesting a theme and there’s no deadline to pressure me, I don’t do anything. Man, I suck.

Leave a Reply

