I hate that this blog has turned into a place where I do a lot of whining, but the things I’ve been whining about haven’t gone away so how can I quit whining about them? This whole internet situation is really bringing me down fast. I had initially thought I would be able to just deal with it for a month or two before I was able to drop money on service from another ISP. But I am not dealing with it very well at all. I keep trying to convince myself that it’s summer and since I’m not able to play WoW through no fault of my own, I should just go out and enjoy the summer; get started on a a gym routine, be active and spend time outside. But I haven’t been able to make myself do that yet. I find myself sitting on the couch, flipping through my basic cable channels, watching reality TV and becoming depressed. And don’t get me wrong, I do realize how ridiculous it is to be depressed about not having internet. It’s not like I have serious problems like so many other people unfortunately do. I should be using my new spare time to catch up on my reading, do all those crafty things I’ve been wanting to do, etc. I need an intervention.

I think the reason I’m letting it upset me so is because I’m just getting so far behind. I am still able to read my blogs intermittently and everyone’s is getting ready for The Firelands, everyone is making huge progress on raiding, ZG and ZA are becoming old news. I, on the other hand, have never completed StoneCore (normal or heroic), I got pulled into one ZG group by friends when a healer dropped and after I helped them with the boss they were working on, they called it a night. I haven’t seen ZA at all. I only have 116 Tol Borad commendations. I only have a small handful of Valor Points. And I’m just getting left further behind in the dust. I think that’s why I’m so upset about this. I feel like by the time this internet situation is resolved I will be so far behind I’ll be useless.

To make matters worse, I decided to start researching my alternate ISP options here and it’s amazing how much is not available to me. I moved 2 miles away from where I had lived, but it did cause a zip code change and the AT&T dsl we had at my previous address is not available here. Mediacom cable internet is available here, but I’ve been all over their website and can’t figure out how to subscribe to internet only instead of a bundled pack of cable, internet and phone for a large monthly payment. Knowing that this may not get fixed after all is not helping. I realize it’s ridiculous to be upset over something as silly as not having internet, but I can’t help finding myself upset about it.

Anyway, I suppose I’ll wrap up this session of feeling sorry for myself and see if I can force myself off the couch to get something accomplished this evening. Wish me luck.

Comments on: "The One Where It’s Really Getting To Me" (12)

  1. That sucks! I once lived in a tiny town where there was only one internet provider, and they required you to have a land line despite the fact that I had absolutely no use for one. So that was lame. Nothing like paying for a service you don’t want or need at all simply because there are no other options. Hopefully you manage to work something out with Mediacom! Have you tried calling and asking them directly if such a package (or pack of a package, I suppose) is available?

    In any case, good luck finding a solution! /encourage

  2. I wanted to agree with Rades. Don’t trust their website, call them and tell them all you want is internet, no phone, no crazy packages, just internet.

  3. Fortunately they’ve made it so that with some money and craftiness, you can catch up pretty easily! My bf just dinged 85 on his warrior, and a couple of hours later he was geared for ZA/ZG and some day after doing that he joined his first alt run as MT. There is always time to catch up, don’t worry πŸ™‚ Even if you don’t care about the gear, there is time to do the other stuff. Now, about your internet being really sucky… that’s just bad and I really hope you get a better one soon. I remember when I was without internet for two months due to moving and I felt completely left out of the rest of the world… :/

  4. Mimfollee said:

    Actually, once 4.2. drops you will be able to catch up quickly. All the valor points stuff available now you will be able to get for Justice points and they are easily farmable. Dont get depressed over that πŸ™‚

  5. Elfi have you tried at least the satellite internet? I odnt know where you are, but while I was in AZ I lived too far out from the cable network so had to go satlink instead. Check out if there are any nearby providers, it may help you out. Good luck and keep your head up πŸ™‚

  6. Kimber said:

    You know you can come to my house any time you want, right? I think I would call AT&T, too. If you don’t want to do that, do another search, but don’t use the zip code thing, use the apartment complex phone number. Just try it.
    If you decide you want to come over… let me know so I can run the vacuum and stuff. =)

    • Yeah, I need to just pack up and go over to your house and make you fry me up some hamburgers. Yum. Oh and we could play WoW too.

Leave a Reply

